Charlotte County, FL Logo

18500 Murdock Circle
Port Charlotte, FL 33948

Mobile Menu close icon
close search

Using The Library

Get a Library Card

Library cards are free of charge to any Charlotte County resident. To obtain a card, you must provide photo ID and proof of residency in Charlotte County. A valid Florida driver's license with your current Charlotte County address fulfills both requirements.

If your photo ID does not reflect your current Charlotte County address, an additional proof of residency is needed. Acceptable proofs of residency forms include the following:

  • Charlotte County Voter's Registration
  • Charlotte County Property Tax Receipt
  • Florida I.D. Card (Issued by Driver's License Bureau)
  • Certificate of Residency
  • Business License issued in Charlotte County
  • Employment I.D.
  • Charlotte County School I.D.
  • Charlotte County Utility Bills
  • Lease agreement signed for at least 6 months at a Charlotte County address

Personal mail and junk mail are not acceptable proofs of residency.

Children must have a parent or legal guardian present to apply for a card. 

You can apply for a library card online. You will be issued a temporary User ID. Make sure to write it down! It will allow you to access digital resources immediately. Then bring your photo ID and proof of residency to the library to obtain a permanent card. You may also use your temporary ID to place holds through the catalog. Temporary IDs are valid for 30 days.

Non-Charlotte County residents

Residents of Sarasota County or a participating SWFLN library may apply for a free reciprocal borrower card with Charlotte County by presenting photo ID and a library card in good standing with their home institution. SWFLN library patrons must also have a current SWFLN sticker provided by their home institution. A list of participating SWFLN institutions can be found here.

Non-residents who don’t qualify for reciprocal borrowing may purchase a card for:
  • $10 for 3 months
  • $20 for 6 months
  • $35 for 12 months

Paid non-resident card holders can access all our digital resources.

Circulation Policies

Up to fifty (50) items may be checked out to your library card at a time.

Items will check out for the following loan periods:
  • 3 weeks: Regular books, Paperbacks, Audiobooks, Music CDs, Playaways, Digital devices
  • 2 weeks: New adult books, Movies, Playaway Views, Hotspots


Items now renew automatically. The system will attempt to renew items 3 days before their due date unless there is a hold on the item. They will renew up to 3 times. If you have opted for text or email notifications, you will be notified whether items have successfully renewed.

You can also check the status of your items by logging into My Account on our library website. Items are not able to be renewed until 3 days before their due date.


Outside book drops are available for returns at all locations. You can return Charlotte County Library items to any Charlotte County Library location, even if the items were checked out at a different branch.

Overdue Fines

Fines accrue at a rate of $0.25 per day per item for most library materials. You can view your account balance by logging into My Account on the Library Catalog page.

Youth materials no longer accrue overdue fines. Items designated as youth materials have call numbers beginning with J. 

Long overdue or lost items

Lost or long overdue items, including youth materials, will be billed at the cost of the item. Fines in excess of $10 must be paid before any materials may be checked out.

Food for Fines

We prefer to accept donations of non-perishable food items in lieu of cash payments for overdue fines. You will be credited $1 for each food item you donate. All donations support a local food bank.

Food for fines can be used to pay overdue fines and fees for any lost or damaged Charlotte County materials. Food cannot be accepted for non-resident cards, printing fees, or charges for lost or damaged interlibrary loans.

eBooks and eAudiobooks

Cloud Library is an eBook service available to Charlotte County Library users. Log in using your library card and PIN number. You may borrow up to 4 titles at a time.

Hoopla is a digital media service that includes eBooks, eAudiobooks, and video. Sign up for an account using your email and library card. You may borrow up to 8 titles monthly. Reciprocal borrowers are not eligible for Hoopla.

When searching the Library Catalog, you can browse our digital materials by changing the item type from Physical Items to Digital Catalog in the first dropdown menu.

Many more digital resources are available on our Online Library Resources page.

Delivering Exceptional Service

Questions? Issues?

Contact Us